theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Loving Every Day: 2010 Resolutions

2 Comments

Seems like everywhere I turn there is a list of New Year’s Resolutions. There are resolutions for getting in shape, eating healthier, etc.,etc. I saw one the other day that said their goal was to wear makeup everyday. Wow! MY DH will just have to try and get by with me au natural most days. Truth is, I have just one major resolution for this year. Actually it’s more a resolution for the next decade of my life. When the clock struck midnight this year I turned the big 3-0. Yep, goodbye twenties, hello thirties. I do have several things I would love to accomplish this year but they all stem from one simple (or not so simple) major goal. TAKE ACTION.  (I feel the little kid inside me balking even now.)

I love ideas. I love, love, love them. There are so many great ones out there sometimes it feels like trying to catch bubbles when I was little. But there is a time for everything and right now it’s time to act baby. So here’s the actions I’m shootin’ for in the next year:

-Learn to make homemade bread. My hubby got me the book “Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day” for Christmas. Can’t wait to try it out! I have heard excellent things about it. And hello, five minutes to fresh healthy bread, now we’re talking my style!

-Learn to Sew. Can’t wait to get my hands on “Sewing Green” by Betz White. Looks like a fabulous book….I’ve saved a few of my husband’s dress shirts that he barely wore just for an apron project I saw in the book. Sew Cute! I know I probably need to start smaller but still this is my big goal. Maybe I’ll make those sweater slippers for Christmas gifts next year. Maybe, just maybe!

-Learn to quilt. Time to enlist my husband’s super cute, super sweet grandmother.

-Find 12 great new, healthy meals that are keepers (one a month). Going for meatless…I confess this isn’t entirely random. I’m going for super fertile. Baby clock: Tick! Tock! Could someone please tell me how to turn this thing off already!

Learn to make soap. Please pray I don’t blow myself up!!! I just love the idea of knowing exactly what’s in a product I use all over my skin.

-Find somewhere to volunteer. I don’t know why but the idea actually intimidates  me if I am to be honest.  I know everyone seems to be doing it these day but I still haven’t broken into it (confession time)….I just don’t know where to start. But I’ve promised myself-even if it’s just for one day-somewhere!

-Scrapbook. I love to scrapbook but I gotta be honest. I tend to  collect all the goodies, and read about the ideas,but more often than not it just doesn’t happen. But this year, this decade, I’m gonna scrapbook and remember to be thankful for all the good things I have.

-Organize my craft room AND make it look pretty. There are some gorgeous one’s out there. I’m bound and determined mine will be next!

Redo at least 2 of various pieces of furniture I have in my home that have great bones but need some serious love. Did I mention I love paint? And now they have low/No VOC versions! Hello love, where have you been all my life?

Sound too ambitious? Probably. Am I still willing to give it all a go? Heck, yes!

2 thoughts on “Loving Every Day: 2010 Resolutions

  1. If you want to practice on some of these resolutions first, you are always welcome to come here. I need lots of reorganizing and scrapbook help.
    And, my dad is a great resource for homemade bread!!

    • Would love to come see you guys sometime. There is talk that there may be a TDY trip for the husband to Romania next year. Been meaning to look how close that is to Germany for a ‘europe’ trip tour of some sort.
      That’s awesome your dad makes bread-something I never would have guessed! YUM!

Leave a Reply

