theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Granola Energy Bars

2 Comments

To know me is to know I love to anything involving granola, nuts, and dried fruit. Of course you would also know that lately I just haven’t had the energy or motivation that I’m accustomed to. (It’s almost as if my body has a separate project of its own going on!) So when I found this recipe for homemade energy bars I stopped and took a closer look.

Let’s see…variety of nuts (check), variety of dried fruit (check), oats (check), cinnamon (yum-check,check)

Almonds & Raisins & Cinnamon, oh my!

and oh, wheat germ (check, check, check).

All pretty typical healthy ingredients, none of the additives usually found in store-bought energy bars (not that I’m above those mind you). The wheat germ had me especially excited. I’m always looking for recipes that call for wheat germ or flax seed. Both are great ways to sneak in a little extra nutrition without anyone being the wiser. For example,wheat germ is known for its vitamin E and folic acid content among a BUNCH of others.

Ground so fine they'll never even know its in the recipe!

The recipe is from Ellie Krieger’s Book “The Food You Crave.” I’m on my second renewal from the library with it. I am seriously considering buying a used copy from amazon. I’ve made several of the recipes from it and they have all been delicious with just a little minor tweaking.

Last step before heading into the oven! This even looks pretty before its cooked!

Did I mention the heavenly cinnamon aroma that fills your house while these are baking?


THE GOODS:

Cooking Spray

1 c. quick-cooking rolled oats

1/2 c. shelled unsalted raw sunflower seeds

1/2 c. toasted wheat germ

1/4 c. whole-grain pastry flour or whole-wheat flour

1/2 c. dried apricots

1/2 c. raw almonds

1/2 c. raisins

1/2 c. pitted dried dates   (These are great way to sneak some fiber into your diet!)

1/2 c. nonfat dry milk    (I used regular lowfat milk and they turned out fine.)

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/3 c. pure maple syrup

2 large eggs

THE GRIND:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. coat a 9×13 -inch baking pan with cooking spray.

Place all ingredients, except the maple syrup and eggs, in a food processor and pulse until everything is finely chopped. Add the syrup and eggs and pulse until the mixture is well combined. It will resemble a coarse paste.

Transfer to the baking pan and spread evenly to cover the bottom. Bake until lightly browned, about 20 minutes. Allow to cool for 15 minutes, then cut into 24 bars. Sore in an airtight container at room temperature for about 3 days or wrap individually and freeze for up to 3 months.

Can’t get enough granola? Head over to Prudent Mama. I just found a tasty looking granola recipe over there from Cooking With My Kid!

2 thoughts on “Granola Energy Bars

  1. are you bringing these on the trip?

    • Maybe if they last that long! I’ve become such an all day grazer! It doesn’t take much to convince me that they are healthy so I can eat a dozen right?

Leave a Reply

