theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Wash. Dry. Fold. (Repeat.)

2 Comments

Basket: $5 from a local thrift store. Liner: $0 addtl. It's leftover fabric from other nursery projects. If you can sew a pillowcase, you can make the liner just add a one half the width of the basket to the length to accomodate the basket's circumference.

A tisket. A tasket. It’s my baby’s new laundry basket!

And it’s surprisingly empty. But not for long I suppose. This last weekend I started washing all my baby girl’s fabrics.

  • 3 Loads of baby clothes
  • 3 Loads of Diapers
  • 3 Loads of Blankets
  • 1 Load of Baby Bedding (and there’s more bedding to come)

Phew! Glad that’s done! Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining, just a bit surprised. That’s a lot of laundry! But I keep reminding myself that I won’t have to wash all her clothes all the time, and the diapers don’t have to be washed separate from now on. (More to come on the diapers later.) So with all that laundry I think it’s important just to bring up the laundry detergent I’m using.

With children it’s known that they soak up way more chemicals per pound than adults do. So a gentle  detergent is especially important to help avoid unneccesary chemical exposure.

And no, it isn’t Dreft.

Although highly marketed to mommies, Dreft actually contains the same ingredients as Tide. Both are petroleum based. They are  made from the same company, so are you really surprised? Sounds like a marketing ploy to me. Keep in mind that Dreft has perfumes in it-something that babies can be sensitive to so if you are really concerned about baby’s sensitive skin you need something free of perfumes and fragrances too.

The great news is that there are so many more options out there that when Dreft was first introduced.  More companies are not only trying to formulate detergents geared towards baby’s and kids sensitive skin but they are also doing so with the environment in mind. Aha! Now they had me interested. So what did I choose to try for my baby’s clothes???

Seventh Generation Baby.

Now I have to admit after I read how Dreft and Tide contained the same ingredients I got to wondering if Seventh Generation Baby actually had different ingredients than their regular detergent. So I looked it up online. All the ingredients for their plant based products are readily available. That’s one of the things I love about this company. They don’t seem to try and hide information about their products. From what I could tell the main difference with the “baby” formula was the lack of perfumes and fragrances. I also noticed that they have a “Free and Clear” formula. Now that looks like the same thing as the baby detergent. Hmmm…next time I go detergent shopping I just might  see if their is a difference between the “baby” and “Free & Clear”  formulas as far as price is  concerned and try it.

So of course now that I’ve addressed my baby’s needs I have to tell you about the great environmentally friendly potential that this product has. According to the manufacturer of Seventh Generation, if every U.S. household replaced just one bottle of 50 oz.  2x concentrated petroleum based laundry detergent with one bottle of Seventh generation plant-derived product,  over 185,000 barrels of oil could be saved. That’s adds up to a lot of oil! It could heat and cool 10,600 homes for a YEAR!

I’m just sayin’! And did I mention that if you sign up for their newsletter online you can print out some pretty decent coupons????

2 thoughts on “Wash. Dry. Fold. (Repeat.)

  1. I really love that material!!

Leave a Reply

