theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Thoughts on Breastfeeding

8 Comments

Okay, so I’m coming in just barely under the wire here since August is almost over, but did you know that August is breastfeeding awareness month?

Yep.

And I bet you’re thinking I’m going to give you the spill about how great breastfeeding is and all the wonderful benefits of breastfeeding to baby and mom.

Nope.

While there ARE many benefits to breastfeeding, I bet you’ve heard them all before like me. I’m currently reading The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, and it says that about 70% of moms start out trying to breastfeed, so obviously women are aware of how the great potential with breastfeeding is. So no need to go there, IMO.

I guess the real reason I bring up the whole breastfeeding topic is because I’m going to breastfeed and it’s a topic frequently on my mind these days. Note that I said I’m GOING to breastfeed, not that I’m going to TRY and breastfeed. My midwife pointed that out to me the other day. And just how powerful words are and to be positive and confident.

Anyways, the whole thing still seems a bit intimidating to me and the authors of The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding discuss just how important support networks are to successful outcomes. I realized that in some ways this blog and everyone who reads it have been a great support to me throughout the last few months and I just wanted to say thanks! Thanks for all the love and interest-it’s so great just knowing that we are not alone out there-whether its discussing the environment (I’m a treehugger and proud of it!) or just about ways to save money while still trying to eat healthy and deliciously and not douse ourselves with unnecessary chemicals. Thanks for just being you and sharing of yourselves, your experiences and opinions! My cup runneth over, y’all!

So on that positive note, I wanted to let you know that if you ARE in the market for nursing supplies, whether for yourself or someone else, Babies R Us has a sale on a bunch of their nursing supplies that runs ‘til the end of August in honor or Breastfeeding awareness month. Yay! I love good deals, don’t you? Sadly, I procrastinated and missed the 20% off sale at Bebe Au Lait organic nursing covers (sigh), but then again, out of necessity and frugality, I did something I probably wouldn’t have otherwise actually done. I made myself a nursing cover. I’ve been thinking about it for a while and then when I missed the great sale at Bebe Au Lait, I decided that I was just going do it. It’s not perfect, but I’m doing my best to get started breastfeeding off to a positive start. Surrounding myself and my baby girl in a beautiful fabric seems like a nice idea.  Here it is….

For the how-to, I followed this great tutorial over at Prudent Baby.

Tell me, do you have any tips or thoughts on how to successfully breastfeed? Something that just really made a difference for you in the positive or negative? (Would love to hear, if you’re willing to share I realize it’s personal experience for everyone.) Or maybe just a tip that someone shared with you about mommyhood in general or an experience that you wished everyone knew to save them some trouble…. (yes, I know I’m opening myself up to all kinds of comments but I’m feeling a bit brave today!)

Love to you all-xoxo!

8 thoughts on “Thoughts on Breastfeeding

  1. I am so proud of you for going this direction! It is a huge commitment but one that is well worth the effort. I had very little trouble breastfeeding so no horror stories here. But my advice would be, just relax! That baby is going to eat when it is hungry and chances are high even if she doesn’t start out a great nurser, she will figure it out! If you can make it through the 2 months of pretty much constant nursing then you will both be pros! Just remember to keep water by your side and get some good movies! Don’t beat yourself up if you have to suppliment but do it as little as possible. Nursing is one of my favorite things about having a newborn! I love the quiet closeness and the need that only I can fill. That means that you always have an excuse to take the baby away from whomever is holding her! “She has to eat now.” 🙂 I pray wonderful things for you all. And I also pray your nipples (sorry) adjust quickly! Heehee! Also, contact me if her poop changes from nice mustard-yellow to green. I learned something new with this baby! (the baby who is still nursing at 14 months!)

    • Thanks Rochelle-for the encouragement and positive experience and advice! I have heard so many negative experiences-it’s nice to hear that someone is cruising right along!

  2. wow! u are brave! just remember, if u get frustrated to try switching sides or positions. warm showers are great for getting the milk to relax and ease soreness. don’t be afraid to pump the first few weeks and freeze portions in baggies. I promise there will be a time when u will want or need joey to take over a session!!! note that I said WILL, not MIGHT! God made daddies for many reasons, this is one! It’s almost D day! If I’m this excited then I know u are extatic!

    • Gina, I’ve got my pump-just haven’t pulled it out of the box yet. I think it would be nice for Joey to get to feed her sometimes-for me and her (and him) (= And I am sooooo ready! I told myself I would just expect her in October so i wouldn’t get anxious, but…..it’s not working!

  3. Breastfeeding was the most wonderful experience I have ever had! It was so nice to have Hannah cuddled up next to me and such a wonderful bonding time! I’ll pass this tip down from Grandmother, if your milk gets engorged, which it probably will, place a clean, cold leaf of cabbage on your breasts for a while, it’ll make the milk FLOW! Also, if your milk dries up after eating certain foods, don’t get scared. Go to a natural food store and ask them for drops to help with milk production. I found that everytime I ate cilantro my milk would dry up…weird, I know but those drops (and of course I don’t remember the name) worked wonders 🙂 I’m so excited for you two! And ALWAYS relax when feeding 🙂

    • Heather, Thanks for the tip about the milk drops-I hadn’t heard of those before but something I’m going to look into! Thanks for sharing your positive experience! (I’ve heard so many negative ones-a positive one is so nice!)

  4. Good for you for your positive thinking. I too just said that “I was going to breastfeed” and never thought any different. Hard for me to admit but that was 26 years ago when I was pregnant with my first son. Being pretty flat chested I remember my mom looking right at my little boobs in a tube top and saying “are you sure you are going to be able to breastfeed?” Oh boy! Well after 4 kids and a total of over 7 years of breastfeeding I’d say the answer is “yes!”
    I think too many gals stress over it and that is why they aren’t successful. My son’s wife is due this month with our first grandchild and I think she is the type to be stressed. (They live far away so I haven’t seen her to know for sure) But I’m sure hoping that it goes well for her too!
    Good luck to you and your new baby 🙂

    • Thanks Lori! Your encouragement is really appreciated! Definitely hoping to keep stress to a minimum (= Good luck to your daughter-in-law too (= Hope everything goes great!

Leave a Reply

