theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Apple Date Bars

2 Comments

It’s apple season!

Red Delicious, McIntosh, Braeburns, Gala, Granny Smith, and Gold Delicious….mmm! (Kinda makes me wanna make some more subway art!) And I know for some of you it’s also back to school time too. When I wake up in the mornings it’s actually a little cool and I can almost feel Fall in the air. It’s also time for me to start my pre-baby baking. So I figured I would start with these yummy Apple Date Bars. I found the recipe last year at Whole Foods while I was shopping their apple sale. It’s apple-y, cinnamon-y, and oh so tasty! I modified the original recipe by switching to whole wheat flour and baking it in an 8×11 sized pan. So while you can use regular all-purpose flour, I think it tastes WAY better with the whole wheat. It just adds something.

***These babies freeze exceptionally well for up to two months. So I would definitely recommend doubling or even tripling the recipe and getting “your money’s worth” so to speak.

APPLE DATE BARS

The Goods

  • 5 Tbs. butter (I prefer unsalted)
  • 2/3 C. Brown Sugar
  • 3 Tbs. 2% Milk
  • 3/4 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1-1/3 C. All Purpose Flour (try whole wheat for a little extra flavor)
  • 1/2 Tsp. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Tsp. Ground Cloves
  • 1/4 Tsp. Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 C. Walnut Pieces
  • 1/2 C. Dried Dates Pitted and Chopped
  • 1/2 c. Apples peeled and chopped
  • 1 Large Egg

The Grind

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8×11 inch pan.
  2. Cream the butter and brown sugar. Mix in the egg and milk. Stir in the apples.
  3. Add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg, mix thoroughly. Stir in the nuts and dates.
  4. Spread dough into greased pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.
  5. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes before cutting into 2-inch square bars.

Nutritional Info (based on all-purpose flour, whole wheat would probably help some with this): Total calories 104; Calories from Fat 30; Total Fat 3g; Saturated Fat 0g; Cholesterol 11 mg; Sodium 47 mg; Carbohydrates 18g; Sugar 10 g; Protein 1g.

2 thoughts on “Apple Date Bars

  1. I am sooo trying these! yummy! So any changes in labor land we need to know about? Thought it would be funny if you went into labor on labor day! I know that wasn’t original but it made me laugh at the thought!

Leave a Reply

