theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Been thinking about…Movement.

1 Comment

Have you ever noticed themes running throughout your life? I’ve heard that if something keeps popping up again and again in your life it’s God’s way of trying to tell you something.

For most of 2010,I would say my theme has been preparation and growth. Make that 9 months of preparation for the beautiful bundle I’m now holding in my arms. Now how is it possible to be holding something-or someone rather, and still be typing you may be asking yourself. Ah, that would be thanks to the Moby Wrap. A super long piece of fabric that you wrap around yourself and your baby and move around hands free (and might I add guilt-free) all the while being able to keep an eye on your baby. Not to mention my baby LOVES it. She loves the movement.  She falls asleep within 5 minutes almost everytime I put her in it.  It’s fabulous! It was extremely intimidating the first few times I tried to put it on but after that first successful attempt its been smooth sailing. My laundry gets folded, dishes get picked up and moved to the kitchen, mail gets opened and best of all my baby is right next to my heart. I know, that last one just tugs at you right? Sorry couldn’t help myself. But it brings me to my point. I think my new theme must be movement.

Another example:  While most people are getting up at 4 am on Black Friday on the hunt for good shopping deals, I will probably be up nursing my daughter and then trying to catch a few more zzz’s before DH and I head on over to the local U-Haul.  You see, DH and I are moving-again. Just down the road, literally about 20 miles, but we are moving again, nonetheless. It will be the 10th move in our 9 years of marriage. And for me it will be about the 20th time to move in my life. Just call me the travelin’ woman. My brother jokingly says our family is a bunch of gypsies because we all move around all the time or enjoy traveling more than most people. So, known as the travelin woman or gypsy, I’m on the move again. Just down the road, but I’m moving.

Then there’s the week long family ski trip planned for spring break. Movement here I come! This last year there’s was no skiing for me. I was too busy growing my DD. But this Spring, just stand back and watch me go. I wouldn’t recommend getting in my way. Mostly because I’m not that great of a skier and not always able to stop myself, lol! But you get the picture (=  And there’s going to be some serious movement leading up to that point to get myself in shape before then. Recovery from a c-section is not going to be had from sitting around eating Christmas fudge. Unfortunately. Insert sad face here if you know what I mean.

So after 9 months of preparation,  2 months of recovery and adjustment, movement has found its way back into my life. So I’m realizing out that it must be the new theme of my life. I’ve had a little time on my hands think while nursing DD can you tell?  I want to walk, run, dance, and feel the wind in my hair. I want to move.

Movement really is a wonderful thing. I am so thankful for it. And for so many things in my life this Thanksgiving. I hope that wherever you are this Thanksgiving that this post finds you with those you care about the most. May you all have a wonderful and blessed  holiday weekend.

xoxo, Rachel

One thought on “Been thinking about…Movement.

  1. sooo very sweet! and so very very true! we do move and travel alot! I wonder what the total of our travels would be if added together? Just food for thought! I hope that maybe u and Joey can go skiing with us at Sandia peak. Rod is bringing his snowboard and us, our skis. Rod suggested this because it’s such an easy Mt. to practice on, and because If we practice at Christmas then maybe it will be an easier transition at Springbreak. Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

