theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Baking Bread | Week Two

4 Comments

Bread + Berries + Honey Butter = good for you yumminess!

Do I really need to say more?

Do you think I could actually resist? No? Okay I admit it: When it comes to blogging I can usually produce an eye-ful of words! I just love to write and this healthy breakfast type bread full of anti-oxidants makes it easy. The recipe comes from Healthy Bread in Five Minutes, again. I’m just loving their variety of recipes and the simplicity of them! I do plan on trying out other sources for bread recipes btw.  I just happen to have this book on hand. I’ve also only tried out a few recipes from there so it makes for lots of new recipes to try! (i.e. I’m all about new!)  So if you have a great bread recipe or even one you’ve never actually had I’m willing to be the guinea pig for you. Just email me.

So on to this week’s trial, Whole Wheat Berry Bread (or muffins). Now, I must advise you in advance that this isn’t going to make a very sweet bread. Don’t expect muffins that taste like the ones that come from a box. We did, and we we’re disappointed. Not because the bread wasn’t good, actually it was quite good with a smear of honey butter, but this is the grown-up version of breakfast breads/muffins. If you’re still addicted to sugar like we are then you should definitely plan on making the honey butter to go with this. It makes me think of how people add icing to cinnamon rolls. The great part about the butter and bread both is that neither calls for actual sugar. Honey is used as a sugar substitute. Agave nectar can be used also, but just keep in  mind it might alter the flavor a bit. Tequila anyone?

So, here’s the recipe.

The Goods

-The Bread

  • 4 C. White Whole Wheat Flour
  • 4 C. Unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 Tbs. granulated yeast
  • 1 Tbs. Kosher Salt (or decrease to taste)
  • 1/4 C. Vital Wheat Gluten
  • 2 1/4 C. Lukewarm Water
  • 1.4 C. Honey
  • 3 C. Mixed Frozen Berries and their juices, defrosted
  • Egg Wash (1 beaten egg with 1 Tbs. water) for brushing on top crust
  • Raw sugar for sprinkling on top

-Honey Butter

  • 4 Tbs. unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 2 Tbs. Honey
  • 1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract

The Grind

(These are just the very basic steps. If you want lots of detail and hints/tips you should check out the book. It’s very inspiring!)

  1. Whisk together the dry ingredients.
  2. Combine the water,honey and berries, then add to the dry ingredients without kneading.
  3. Cover, not airtight and allow to rest at room temp for approx. 2 hours.
  4. You can use dough immed. or refrigerate in a lidded, not airtight container and use for the next 5 days.
  5. Whenever you decide to bake the dough, grease a bread loaf pan.
  6. Cut off a 2 pound piece of dough.  Enough to fill the pan about 3/4 full. Shape into an oval.
  7. Place in pan. Allow it to rest loosely covered with plastic wrap, for 1 hour and 45 minutes, or one hour if you’re using fresh unrefrigerated dough.
  8. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. If you have a baking stone you can use it, but its not necessary.
  9. Paint the top with the egg wash.l
  10. Place near the center of the oven.
  11. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes.

It makes for a very pink flavored dough. Reminds me of Berry Cap’n Crunch cereal and the way the milk gets tinted by the time your done eating breakfast. Except this is flavored from actual berries! What a concept (hargh, hargh).

Add some protein and maybe some coffee or milk if you can digest it and your breakfast is set for the week.

**Please forgive the lack of a picture of the finished product. It’s night time and I had to decide between a horrible unappetizing nightime picture and not getting this posted for another couple of days while waiting for a great daytime pic.  My baby is not feeling well and not sure what kind of night and day we have coming up. Hope you are all surving the coming storm in the southwest/midwest area! Brrr, stay warm out there!

4 thoughts on “Baking Bread | Week Two

  1. I am trying this today! Honey butter?! You are my hero.

  2. Tried it and it was awesome! It did end up a bit dense though. I might increase the yeast next time and try to get it to rise a bit. 🙂

    • Yay! So glad you liked it! Mine was a bit moist. I’m going to try measuring more closely on the fruit. ( I just threw in a 16 oz pkg of frozen mixed berries-it said it was 3 cups worth but not so sure it was totally accurate).

      • The second loaf I baked was wonderful! It sat in the fridge for a couple of days and so I took it out last night and let it sit on the counter. THen I threw it in the oven this morning. What a yummy breakfast! ( I guess it needed to sit longer than I let it in the first loaf!)

Leave a Reply

