theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Baking Bread | Week 5

4 Comments

MMMM…..there is nothing quite like the smell of brown sugar and cinnamon in the morning. Nothing. Sorry, all you folks who drink coffee. Coffee smells wonderful but this morning I found something that beats it in my book. No joke. It actually smelled so good it brought me out of my foul mood. Okay maybe not foul, but grumpy. Let me just say I am sooooo glad that this weeks bread turned out!I I don’t think anything is more disappointing than working so hard on something to have it flop. Like my pinwheels did last weekend. Oh, they tasted okay but they were so sad looking. Really, I almost wanted to cry. I was so frustrated. The dough didn’t cooperate and major user error on my part resulted in pinwheels that were edible while warm from the oven but that’s about it. I tried to blame a bunch of it on the dough.

Uh, no. I used the exact same brioche dough (that I saved in the freezer for a couple of weeks) and this time it resulted in delicious warm cinnamon crescent rolls. DH and I decided they must be a cousin of the better known cinnamon rolls but with a twist (ha!). And then they were topped with a cream cheese icing. Oh my! These will be made again.

First I rolled out the dough to 1/8″ thick in a rectangular shape.

Then sprinkled with cinnamon, brown sugar and oil.

Then I cut the dough in to triangles.

Then rolled them up starting with the larger end first. Then let them rest for 30 minutes. Followed by 20-30 minutes in the oven. And then top with cream cheese icing. I highly suggest you eat them while warm. I did. (=

And did I introduce you to my assistant?

My cute kitchen helper! Who doesn't need one of these?!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Baking Bread | Week 5

  1. awww! cutest assistant EVER! these cresent rolls look amazing by the way!

  2. Hey,
    Those look delicious!!! I will have to try that sometime. My Husband loves Cinnamon rolls πŸ™‚
    Your little assistant is darling!! She is growing up so fast!! I bet you just love her to death. I don’t know if you have looked at my blog lately. But we are expecting a little one this year as well. I am 13 weeks now and I’m excited,scared,anxious,nervous, thrilled…. I could go on and on and on. I’m sure you know exactly what I mean. What is your new phone # I have been thinking about calling you to see how you are doing. I love being able to see all of your daily adventures here but I haven’t heard you voice in soooo long πŸ™‚ Well talk to you later! Love Janika

  3. Oh my goodness. So yum. I have had to take a break from making bread. I am getting fat. πŸ™‚ I did make hamburger buns the other day. Mostly because I was too lazy to go to the store. They were good!

  4. Oh this looks delicious!

    I saw your comment on Cathy Zielske’s site about learning PSE – just wanted to link you up to the free workshop I’m doing – you can read more about it here http://mshanhun.com/digital-scrapbooking-misting/

    Just found your blog and wanted to share! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

