theCOZYgreenCOCOON

Headed towards back to the basics living.

Friends

7 Comments

It’s not the destination, but who’s beside you, that matters most.”

So true. Who we surround ourselves has such a big influence. I have to tell you that in the last few months I have really lost my enthusiasm for eating healthy, being green, and just all around trying to do what my conscious tells me is the right thing. Sometimes the reason I start doing something gets fuzzy. I forget why I do the things I do. And when that happens, I slack. I think well, its just one plastic carton or I’m so hungry just give me some chicken or a burger from somewhere. After all no one else seems to really care. Dozens of cars are in the drive thru. Those people are still alive. Does it really matter if I use a paper towel? YES! But it’s so much effort, the whiney voice in my head says.

“Two are better than one…if one falls down, his friend can help him up.”  Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Thank goodness for sisters. My sister seems to really have the enthusiasm for eating healthy and natural and taking care of herself. It’s inspiring. Her energy has me getting re-motivated. In fact, I am re-watching Food, Inc., as I have time during the day. And I’m looking to start exercising again and looking at healthy natural foods with a renewed sense of purpose. I’m not saying I’ve got myself under control 100% now.  There’s an Arby’s chocolate croissant with my name on it that DH is picking up from the drive thru on his way home from work tonight. BUT, it all counts, right?!

Besides we did make it to the Farmer’s market this weekend. I tried out eggplant for the first time.

And we got some glorious red and orange bell peppers. So love those!

And some farm fresh eggs! Missed those!

So if you’ve been slacking in some area where you used to feel so enthusiastic to see a change in your life, then I encourage you: Go! Go find some friends with common interests and goals. Don’t be a loner. At least not all the time. I’m one myself. I’ve been known to hole up with a good book for hours before I had my daughter. Or to spend hours crafting all by myself, trying to learn to sew. But sometimes you gotta find your ‘peeps ‘ to keep you on track.

Find ways to remotivate yourself. Remember why it was you started something in the first place. Review where you started and how far you’ve come. If you derailed like me lately, that’s okay. Get back up there on the horse. If he ain’t dead, there’s still hope y’all.

Here’s something similar that I’ve been dealing with myself from Miss Mustard Seed. Love her style!

http://missmustardseed.blogspot.com/2011/08/losing-finding-myself.html

 

XOXO, Rachel


7 thoughts on “Friends

  1. You know…I recently had the re-motivation talk with myself. There are changes I want to make in my life and I also get to the point where I ask myself “is it worth the effort when you go at it alone?” The answer was yes, it is. I owe it to myself and I owe it my kids. I’m going to be stalking your blog…Going Green is one of things I have on my “self betterment” quest.

    • What a great point! I must remind myself of that-even if I don’t find someone with similar goals and have to do somethings on my own, it IS still worth it! Especially for my daughter! Glad to hear your interested in “going green” (=

  2. Love the picture by the way. Your daughter and furry friend are adorable!!!!

  3. Oh Rach! I just love and miss you so much! I think we all go thru those times, I feel so defeated sometimes when I make the effort to reuse my grocery/cloth bags only to see most other people carrying out 10 or more plastic/paper bags which I know will only end up in the landfill. It can get discouraging but I just keep telling myself that I am responsible for what I know. Like the Bible says, ” to much given, much is required!” I know to much to NOT do my part. You are a huge part of what got me so fired up to change my family’s wasteful ways, to go green, to care about organics…the list goes on! Was it Paul who said,”I have run the race, I have fought a good fight..”? I will try and find that verse. Anyway, I just keep running the race, fighting the good fight..” Any difference is better than no difference at all, right?

    Love the picture, it brought a smile to my face! That baby is just too precious!

    ps. Pray with me that I will find a good workout partner, a FEMALE one! It is very lonely being the only woman in the free weight section! Like we talked about earlier, I really need some positive people around me, people who , like u said, will motivate me to keep on track!

    xoxo

    • I miss you too! And I think that is so true about knowing too much to not do something. It feels wrong to know the right thing to do and then not do it. I think it actually talks about that somewhere in scripture doesn’t it? I’ve heard it before, but heard it again the other day, that you have to be the change you want to see in the world. I just find it hard because I don’t want to be a negative person, but it feels like there are so many things that are backwards from the way they should be in our country. Would love to hole up somewhere and just live a peaceful, quiete, self sustained life.

      I am praying with you for a female workout partner!!! There has to be somebody,somewhere who is “normal” and interested in free weights! I’m considering “stalking” a lady we talked with at the farmer’s market this wkd (= She’s a “master gardener” and sold me one of her organic basil plants and had lots of helpful info. I know we aren’t alone out there in our quest to better ourselves and families!

  4. I say stalk that master gardener like crazy! I already called the Food bank gardening director, who is a master gardener, and asked if they need volunteers in the organic gardening area they have. He asked me come in and get started anytime! I am going to let it cool down a bit and then start again. They raise their own tilapia, have worm farms, green housed, massive herb and veggie beds, fruit trees…all organic and self stainable. It’s crazy in a good way. hope to get lots of good ideas and info to use at homme! xoxo

Leave a Reply

